Land Records


Vermont recording fees will increase effective July 1, 2019.

Below is a summary of the changes. Please plan accordingly so there is no delay in processing your recordings due to a shortage of fees.Contact the Town Clerk’s Office at 802-264-5520 or email the Town Clerk with any questions.

Summary of Vermont Recording Fee Changes

Per Act 526 (approved by VT Legislature 2019 session), 32 V.S.A. §1671      Effective: July 1, 2019


 

FORMER FEE

NEW FEE

Document recording fees

$10/page

$15/page

PTTR (Property transfer tax return)

$10/document

$15/document

Survey plat recording fees

$15/sheet

$25/sheet

Certified copy of records (no change)

$10/page

$10/page

Examination of records (vault time)

$2/hour

$4/hour

The Colchester Land Records are available online back to 1922. The internet site is US Land Records.  We have found that Internet Explorer is not the most ideal browser, but with some basic settings, it will work. Users should add "uslandrecords.com" to the Compatibility View Settings.  This can be found under the "Tools" menu located in the upper right corner depending on the Internet Explorer version.

The website does use windows that requires pop-up windows.  This is so a user can perform functions like printing or downloading.  Please be aware that to print there is a $3 per page charge. 

To get started go into browser, Internet Explorer, Chrome or Firefox to visit the US Land Records website.

You can also read a tutorial.